By Bruce E. Parry, Ph.D

As a self-proclaimed veteran film critic and blogger, the Critics Choice Awards is a show that I can truly appreciate. The Critics Choice Awards began in 1995 to honor achievements in film. The board of voters includes members from the Broadcast Film Critics Association. This year the host of the Critics Choice Awards is Aisha Tyler, the new host of Who's Line is it Anyways, and was held on January 16th. Although predictably American Hustle, 12 Years A Slave, and Gravity won the majority of the awards, I was interested in some of the other nominations. While I was reviewing the nominations list I was very surprised to note that The Hunger Games: Catching Fire was even being considered for a nomination, let alone Best Action Film of the Year. I thought that the movie dragged quite a bit and that the ending fell flat, hardly the makings of an exemplary action film. I even speculated if the only reason that this film was up for the nomination was due to the residual hype from the first Hunger Games film. Whatever the case may be I was very pleased to see that it did not end up winning the award. The full list of nominees and winners can be viewed here.

Copyright Bruce E. Parry, Ph.D



Leave a Reply.

    Bruce E. Parry

    My name is Bruce E. Parry. I live in Chicago, IL and I am the Chair of the Coalition of Veterans Organizations. I have a Ph.D and I enjoy watching films.

    Archives

    December 2013
    November 2013

    Categories

    All
    Movies