by Bruce E. Parry, Ph.D

The next award show of the season was the Golden Globes Awards which was held on January 12, 2014 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angelos. The Golden Globes were created to commemorate film and television achievements specifically in the categories of comedy/musical and drama. The hosts for the second year in a row were Tina Fey and Amy Poehler. The board of voters for this awards show is the Hollywood Foreign Press Association and various journalist around Southern California. What I like about this award show is that it specifically honors comedy and musical films which I believe are largely overlooked in many of the other big award shows. This year I thought there were a few amazing comedy films out and I was sad that The Best Man Holiday was not up for any nominations at all. Also, as predicted, American Hustle walked away with the majority of the awards. American Hustle won Best Motion Picture, Comedy/Musical, Actress in a Motion Picture, Musical/Comedy (Amy Adams), and Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture (Jennifer Lawrence). I thought this was interesting because I would not have considered American Hustle a comedy or musical. Although 12 Years A Slave did win Best Motion Picture, Drama, they did not win as many awards as predicted by film critics. However, I was please to see that All is Lost, another film I reviewed for my movie blog, won the award for Best Original Score in a Motion Picture. This wasn't my favorite movie that I ever reviewed, but I did feel like I could identify with Robert Redford's character as a war veteran. Due to the lack of dialog in the film, I was not surprised that it won for Best Original Score because sound was a main factor in the film. See the rest of the Golden Globe nominees and winners here!



Leave a Reply.

    Bruce E. Parry

    My name is Bruce E. Parry. I live in Chicago, IL and I am the Chair of the Coalition of Veterans Organizations. I have a Ph.D and I enjoy watching films.

    Archives

    December 2013
    November 2013

    Categories

    All
    Movies