"There can be no understanding between the hands and the brain unless the heart acts as mediator."

I was very cautious about this film at first due to the fact that silent films were never really my forte, but upon watching it I realized what all the hype surrounding it was about. I was extremely surprised to find out that the film had been created in 1927 because the special effects and camera work seemed to be very advanced for the times. Although the film was fantastically done, I did have to set my own political beliefs aside because I am an avid activist for workers rights and have been part of many organizations in Chicago, IL in support of that. The entire theme behind the film was that workers will always need a mediator to aid them in working with the highest power. This movie is resolutely against the self-organization of workers (essentially unions) which I found slightly upsetting. However, I completely agree that Metropolis is one of the greatest sci-fi movies and silent films ever created. 



Leave a Reply.

    Bruce E. Parry

    My name is Bruce E. Parry. I live in Chicago, IL and I am the Chair of the Coalition of Veterans Organizations. I have a Ph.D and I enjoy watching films.

    Archives

    December 2013
    November 2013

    Categories

    All
    Movies